

MAY 17, 2019

Jeopardy Night at the New York Academy of Medicine

The annual "Jeopardy" contest at the New York Academy of Medicine, in New York City, was held on May 13, 2019. This year's event attracted contestants from nine departments of anesthesiology—a record—representing hospitals in New York and New Jersey. After an introductory reception, the competition was hosted by Adam Lichtman, MD, from Weill Cornell Medicine. Seven attending anesthesiologists acted as scorekeepers.

Eighteen residents battled each other to earn the coveted trophies and bragging rights for their hospitals. The winners this year were New York Medical College (Drs. Cynthia Wong and Joon Kim), Columbia University Medical Center (Drs. Harry Wanar and Woo Jin Lee) and Rutgers New Jersey Medical School (Drs. Maksim Ptushko and David Convissar).



Figure. Winners from left to right: Drs. Wanar, Lee, Ptushko, Convissar, Frost, Wong and Kim (photo by Dr. Elisabeth Abramowicz).

Trophies and medals were presented at the conclusion of the evening by Farida Gadalla, MB, ChB, a co-chair of the section. The evening was sponsored by the departments of anesthesiology at Weill Cornell Medicine and Montefiore Hospital, and the New York Academy of Medicine provides on-site management, event promotion, registration and library space.

The next meeting of the Section on Anesthesiology to be held at the New York Academy of Medicine will be a poster session in the fall.

Elizabeth A.M. Frost, MD, Section Chair